FacebookTwitterLinkedIn Google PlusCUETubeInstagramCUE on Snapchat

CUE Celebrates 2014 Education Heroes at Annual Conference

April 7, 2014

Palm Springs, Calif., April 7, 2014 – Computer-Using Educators (CUE) Inc. honored 16 outstanding Ed Tech professionals during its annual conference in Palm Springs, March 20-22, 2014. These individuals were recognized for their efforts in infusing curriculum with technology and for leading through innovation. The 2014 award recipients are as follows:



The Gold Disk is CUE's oldest recognition program. Since 1983, recipients who have received this honor have been recognized for their contributions to CUE and to technology in education. Gold Disks are intended to celebrate member contributions of time and talent to CUE.

Jon Corippo - auto awesome Jon Corippo |  Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, Mariposa County Schools
Mark Hammons - auto awesome Mark Hammons | Ed Tech Consultant for Instructional Tech Services, Fresno County Office of Education
Kim Harrison - auto awesome Kimberly Harrison Coordinator of Instructional Technology, Washington Unified School District
Brad Pascoe - auto awesome Brad Pascoe | TOSA Instructional Technology, Escondido Unified School District



TILL Awards recognize local, state and national leaders in educational technology. Members of the broader educational technology community (not necessarily members of CUE) are eligible for recognition in this category for their contributions to advancing the mission of the organization.

Joyce Hinkson - auto awesome Joyce Hinkson* | Director, Outreach and Technical Assistance Network (OTAN), Sacramento County Office of Education



CUE's Platinum Disks are presented to members of the educational technology community who have made significant ongoing contributions to the advancement of technology in education. CUE members (and others in extraordinary circumstances) who have made outstanding and continuing contributions to CUE and help to accomplish its mission and goals can be nominated to receive the Platinum Disk. Platinum Disks are awarded rarely and only in recognition of career-long contributions to educational technology, CUE, its affiliates and mission.


Jan Half - Auto Awesome Jan Half | Program Director, MOUSE Squad of California
Cynthia Sistek-Chandler - Auto Awesome Cynthia Sistek-ChandlerAssociate Professor, National University, San Diego, CA
Debra A. White - auto awesome Debra A. White | Teacher, Prescott, AZ



The Legislative Advocacy Award is presented to any members of the state and/or federal legislature and/or their staffs or other designated persons who have made sustained and/or extraordinary efforts to promote the educational use of technology to advance student achievement through legislation.


 John Cradler - auto awesome

Susan Bonilla | California Assembly Member

Hanabeth Jackson | California State Senator

George Miller | U.S. Congressman


(Advocacy Chair John Cradler accepting on behalf of all three legislators)



This award recognizes a classroom teacher who in the first seven years of his or her teaching career has already made a noteworthy contribution to educational technology in a classroom setting.


Rachel Diephouse - auto awesome Rachel Diephouse* | Teacher and Technology Mentor, San Jose Christian School



This award recognizes a classroom teacher who has made a sustained and/or noteworthy contribution to educational technology in a classroom setting. Creating standards-based curriculum using technology is the key element in this award. Nominees must be classroom teachers and CUE members in good standing.


Jason Seliskar - Auto Awesome Jason Seliskar* | Fourth grade teacher in Covina-Valley Unified School District


Site Leader of the Year is CUE’s newest award and recognizes a school site principal or assistant principal (or equivalent) who has made a noteworthy contribution to promoting educational technology within his or her school. Recipients must demonstrate the following:

Strong support for the belief that all students will excel academically

  • Exceptional leadership in finding ways that technology benefits teaching and learning

  • Building staff morale or the learning environment

  • A commitment to educational quality and student achievement

  • A commitment to professional growth.

  Hector Murrieta | Principal, San Andreas High School


Making IT Happen is an internationally recognized awards program for educators and leaders in the field of educational technology integration in K–12 schools. The program identifies and rewards educational technology leaders around the world for their commitment and innovation and is coordinated by the International Society of Technology in Education (ISTE).


  Marianne Pack  | Director at California Technology Assistance Project Region 6
  Michael Simkins | Consulting Director, TICAL at Santa Cruz County Office of Education

Three of CUE’s 2014 award winners: Diephouse for Emerging Teacher, Seliskar for Outstanding Teacher and Hinkson for Technology in Learning Leadership and one of its 2013 winners: Legislative Advocacy,

Those winners marked with an ‘*’ above and one of CUE’s 2013 recipients (Barbara Nemko, for Legislative Advocacy) have been submitted for consideration to the International Society of Technology in Education (ISTE) for similar awards. ISTE will announce its winners at its annual conference in Atlanta, Georgia, June 28 through July 1,  2014.

CUE thanks these educational heroes and their nominators for inspiring us with their innovations, their creativity and their integration of technology into curriculum and the educational process. For more information, please go to www.cue.org/awards.

# # #

Thanks to CUE Professional Learning Coordinator Danny Silva for the auto-awesome photos!